Bad Order is a mid-grade novel.

Book reviews for Bad Order

RJ Julia Independent Booksellers staff review
"This perfect science fiction novel (NOT fantasy) is my favorite book this year. The aliens remind me of Galaxy Quest, and the sibling relationship between Mary and Albert is realistic and heartwarming. B. B. Ullman writes in a way that makes me think this could happen right now, in my backyard. Fans of Stranger Things or A Wrinkle in Time will devour this great summer read!"
-Review by Jamie

The Horn Book (May/June issue):
"Originally sent to Earth to observe and gather data, a trio of extraterrestrial smartmass-holograph-research-units (SMHRs) discovers an interdimensional tear that allows negative energy into our world. Overstepping their mission, the SMHRs go off-script and decide to intervene by erasing this “bad order” and restoring the natural “good order” to Earth. Ill-equipped to fix this situation—because they have no consciousness—they recruit four youngsters to save the planet: Albert, the youngest, who, when in utero, encountered the dimension that contains all positive and negative thoughts and does not speak; his compassionate sister, Mary, with whom he communicates telepathically; Mary’s clever best friend, Brit; and Brit’s brave older brother. The emphasis here is on solving the problem rather than detailing the grisly consequences of it, which include paralyzing mass pessimism and uncontrolled violence spread through a red mist. Humor, particularly surrounding the SMHRs’ appearance (their attempts to take human form are sloppily executed) break the tension, while short chapters with exciting cliffhangers propel the plot at a quick pace.'

Books & Company, The Kid’s Advisory Board:
"This book was swift, compelling and really good. The main character, Mary, has a brother who can talk to her in mind-speech. He calls her "Pearl." Then a red mist comes to their world and brings with it bad thoughts. If you breathe it in, it causes you to forget everything good in your life and think only of the bad. Mary had to work with Agent Saunters, a smooth FBI-type guy, and a bunch of SMHR units (data-collecting robots) to try to solve the problem. The robots are extremely perceptive but it's hilarious when they try to pass as human and it doesn't really translate. The whole story is bound together by a really good plot. It stands on its own but I hope there's a sequel because I want to read it."
- Review by Michael, age 11

Sterling Children’s Publishing

Cover illustration by Shane Rebenschied.

Background art for this page is "Moon over Adeline" by B.B. Ullman.

xhtml   css